Learning code = Becoming a super powerful product designer

Yay I Made this Using Javascript

 

My notes on becoming a product designer & learning coding (draft notes: will revise)

I think I’ve opened a new world up when I learned how to make tables using Javascript, in order to create dynamic web pages.  While I’m still learning javascript, I want to offer my personal thoughts on why I have to code in order to be a product/ux designer.

Previously, if I wanted to communicate my ideas across, the tools I had are limited to words, sketches, drawings, wireframes, Adobe Photoshop/Illustrator/InDesign/etc.

These are tools that are restrictive of an era of the past, when pages were static. Now, many of our consumer & enterprise goods/products are becoming more and more digital. This movement is restructuring how we live, work, and play in our planet. This pace is so fast that being able to prototype, test out a digital product quickly to accurately reflect a person’s needs is becoming ever so important.

From a personal perspective, yes, it’s hard to learn how to programming. Not coming from a coding background, there are times (see here: https://giveit100.com/@fncischen/yqksun ) where I spend an entire day just on seven lines of code.

You need to know your medium and constantly churn out bad code in order to become comfortable doing hundreds of iterations in one hour. Sometimes it does take that many iterations of a product in order to be good at what you do.

The skillset of being able to build what we design will not only help us work well with developers, but also be able to accurately build a product people will use.

Before learning to code, I mostly communicated through static drawings/images (see here: my portfolio). This process reflects design standards of the past, but does not take into account the dynamic effects of digital products / web applications / interactions. These little things affect how users interact with the digital devices we see.

Static drawings don’t take into account those psychological effects, and thus are a low-efficient method of documenting/prototyping the user experience. It is harder to prototype  & build on top of it, if you aren’t aware of those experiences.

I’ll be documenting this process in more detail and seeing what outcomes I get once I get a working prototype.

This entry was posted in design. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

