Re-evaluating my language learning appraoch

Ximending

I think I’ve reached a language learning plateau when it comes to learning Chinese; since I want to work on speaking, I do not plan to take a Chinese language class next year as I want to focus on more personalized, study so that I can focus on my needs.

My biggest need right now is focusing on speaking and interacting with native speakers at a comfortable level. I like to diversify the amount of sentence patterns I use when I’m speaking, as well as my vocabulary.

For example, there are some sentence patterns that I see in the television that I would have a hard time replicating them unless I make a concerted effort to do so. 

So, here are some major steps I will be taking to:

  • Focus more on language exchanges, but avoid speaking English (skype!)
  • Put more of an emphasis on identifying sentence patterns you want to practice from input; write a list down that you can actively practice. In other words, strengthen the connection between input and output: the feedback loop! 

I realized that it is much easier to do this when I am in a foreign country where I’m forced to speak Mandarin than living in the United States because this feedback loop is much more stronger.

Before I head off to Taiwan, I plan to work on this feedback loop and strengthen it while I’m at home and have access to lots of resources.

This entry was posted in Chinese. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

