Starting today, I’ll be a graphic journalist!

So, for the past few years, I’ve been inspired by how a simple visualization or illustration, an animation or infographic, can be used to inspire people and help better frame particular issues in the world today. A New York Times article that was once filled with text can become a story people can easily relate to with the right illustration or animation.

So, starting today, I will embark on the path on becoming a freelance graphic journalist; after grappling with this for several months, and doing a lot of drawings, I believe that this is an area of growth for me and truly represents who I am as a person.

My particular interest is in environmental and urbanization issues in China. However, my strategy is focusing on using existing content (I’m not a writer by background so it would be much more challenging for me to write something related to the environment) and turn it into compelling visualizations. For example, ChinaDialouge has excellent articles to start out with as a base.

YouTube will be the main platform I will be reaching out to, so expect some illustrations in the next couple of weeks.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

