Graphic journalism / visualization

Idea for visual interactive map and comic in Oakland Chinatown

Lately, I’ve been noticing several themes that make me interested in entering graphic journalism / visualization.

  • I draw a lot with my sketchbook. When I am trying to do group projects and attempting to communicate an idea, I always try to draw it out (albeit not the best)
  • I am very interested in how people take in information, and how memorable the experience is in influencing decision making (i.e. visualization/art as a form of civic engagement).
  • I do not like how urban planners try to reduce their recommnedations of a project to large, dense text or jargon that most people cannot connect to
  • I like how the China Dream is attempting to work with large advertising agencies such as Oglivy or Saatachi-Saatachi to develop a visual vocabulary of sustainabilty that can appeal to a variety of consumers in China, while contrasting itself from the American Dream of consumption.

A big theme is that there are interests, but not necessarily forms of actions.

I’m going to start doing some prototypes and experiments of visualizations and see how they go.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

