Beijing in 3D, and Updates on Life

Nan Luo Gu Xiang, Beijing

While planning for Mapping Morsels in Oakland Chinatown, I got distracted talking about this map of the different type of restaurants that were in this 3D visualization of a Beijing hutong designed by Lihan-BJ, in terms of idealizing a visually pleasing visualization for urban planning.

I’m still working on my visualization/drawing skills, and probably will be working on more through practicing comics/conversations on nciku. Hopefully, they shouldn’t be too perfect, because I want to work on more of my drawing skills. I’ll scan a whole bunch of comics.

Meanwhile, I’m trying to apply a lot of “human-centered-design” thinking  into Mapping Morsels in Oakland Chinatown; for starters, it is a project that I am working on that answers the question of how food is a integral part of the Chinatown community, and in return, we will make a visually compelling product that shows this (see below for examples).

Types of Food-Related Businesses in Oakland Chinatown

We really don’t know what sort of visual to make, but that’s not the important part; visually compelling is not as important as being able to solve a simple problem, which is easy for designers to get lost in.

This is why the Beijing Map I have is only visually appealing to artists, but doesn’t solve the larger problem of how this can be used for future planning (although that isn’t it’s original intention).

It’s weird; I have many different personality types to balance. I have my very Chinese culture and arts side that really enjoys learning Chinese and Chinese creative youth culture; I have my participatory planning side that comes out of my experience in planning. A part of me wants to learn about the Korean culture.

As a young person, in Chinese, 在这个年龄很不容易决定你 想 做什么 (In this age, it’s not really easy to decide what you want to do). The reason why I try to different things is to try to get a sense of where I belong. To be honest, I don’t know what my future will be in a year from now. All I know is that these steps allow me to get different perspectives in life that will eventually mesh in the end.

This entry was posted in city planning, sketching. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

