Lessons on learning Chinese

A few things I’ve learned so far:

  1. Don’t neglect the fundamental grammar points. Always practice them constantly (reading, writing, speaking). You need a good base to work with when you speak, write.
  2. When learning vocabulary, learn the words/phrases/sentences that are the most useful to you at the moment. 
  3. Slow down. Learning Chinese is not a race. I learned that a lot of things I want to do; i.e. speak like people do in TV, take a lot of time and exposure to get used to. There is no shortcut around this. This is similar to podcasts, which I’m going to play around with (i.e. a lesson every two-three days.
  4. Have a structure when learning Chinese. I’m beginning to use the Chinese textbook more often, and I will take my time per section (one week, and if needed, 2 weeks).
  5. Never forget the joy of learning Chinese.  I think I tend to forget this when I always high expectations. I love Chinese food, culture, traditional music, art. It’s something I want to learn more about through the Chinese people.
  6. Have a system to organize how much vocabulary/common phrases you obtain. Review them through a notebook. I’m still figuring this out, as I need a way to process what I’m taking in.  
  7. When Skyping, have a bunch of topics, vocabulary, sentences ready. I think I’m going to write a blog post on this when the time arises.
This entry was posted in Chinese. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

